Pocketbike Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Razor mx500 (mildly modded monster)
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm not sure what happened as my fiancee was using the bike but within 100 yards of the house the battery (which was showing 100% charge on the pack meter) shut down completely. Couldn't get it to do anything, even the charge meter wouldn't work. I had to plug it in for a few minutes to get it to reset.

I'm a noob to the lithium ion battery pack thing and I've never had this happen to me, even with the abuse I've put it through off road, on hills, jumps, wheelies, pulling hundreds of pounds of added weight, riding in rain and through water and so on. Can you guys she'd some light on what the hell just happened so I can try to avoid a repeat and possibly being stranded on the other side of the city?

·
Super Moderator
3,179 Posts
It could be your motor or speed control is going out and is starting to draw too many amps.

Watts ÷ volts = amps - efficiency

Using math we know you're 30 amp BMS is capable of 1200watts MAX!!! But a realistic 1000 Watts if you have a 800 watt motor that is dying it could possibly draw that!!!

I have even seen 600 watt motors internally short and draw double the amps.

Basically your BMS saved your butt and kept your battery pack from catching on fire and exploding like a Christmas hoverboard.

It would be strongly advisable to fix the problem before attempting to ride it again.

·
Registered
What's your poison? Mine is 40:1
882 Posts
Do you have a fuse off the pack? I have blown my buddy's 30amp fuse a few times. Replaced it and back on the road. Thats the 24v 500w motor running 36v. The lithium pack has a bms as well. Two safety items. That was under heavy load up a hill

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·