Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I have the exact same bike as in the picture. I used it a couple of time, every time I found starting the bike very hard. I even broke a couple of pull starts already and I just think it doesn't make sense.

I am trying to understand where the problem is and why the pull start is so jerky, so this is what I know so far:

• Trying to start the bike, the pull start feels very jerky and fairly hard
  • Rotating the flywheel by hand, it still feels very jerky and hard
  • With the plug out there is decent spark
  • With the plug out, the flywheel is very easy going and smooth, no jerkiness whatsoever!

I'm no expert, but my assumption is that if with plug out and the flywheel rotating smoothly, it means nothing is wrong with the piston? Do I have the right assumption?

If so, then what's causing the jerkiness? I've placed back the plug and I tried a couple more things:

• Disconnect the exhaust from the engine outlet - the flywheel is still very jerky. I placed my finger softly inside the exhaust outlet and felt the piston moving with no problem.
  • I also took the carb off, and tried the flywheel and it still feels hard and jerky.

The last thing I can think of is that maybe the reed valve is blocked? Does that make sense? What's the best way to troubleshoot this?

I know it's a long post, any help appreciated!!!!

Attachments

·
Banned
21,744 Posts
Remove the pullstarter and make sure the coil has plenty of clearance against the flywheel...It needs to be a true business card thick which works out to .020" of airgap..............

If all checks out remove the reeds and have a looksie at the crank.............Good Luck

·
Banned
24,164 Posts
When the piston goes up it compresses the air inside and it gets hard to turn till your passed TDC and going down and the exhaust port open.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
CAM said: