Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Noob here.....I just got a APC mini chopper off Craigslist and am trying to get it to start. It did not come with a key, so I bought one off ebay and am pretty sure I wired it correctly (the lights work, it will crank, etc). The problem I am having is the electricity stops at the spark plug. I used a voltometer and it shows I get power all the way down to the "boot" and flashes when I try to crank it. I grounded a NEW plug to the block and no spark! I do not know what the gap should be and am guessing that could be my problem....any other ideas???? I have also put the battery on a charger in the mean time. Thank you in advance.

·
Banned
21,744 Posts
You dont need the battery to get it to run...They have solid state ignition systems just like lawnmowers and weedeaters.........

sounds like you crossed the ignition switch wires wrong................on the switch itself theres two oranges.....they get twisted together.............the other two which are black and green are the killswitch wires....They only get crossed to kill the engine...............good luck...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey CAM2,
Thanks for the quick reply.