Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
hey all...

...i'm new to pbp and pb's in general. i remember vaguely my family had a small bright green honda w/ fat stubby/mt tires back in the day (i'd say it was a 70's model), but that was a lifetime ago it feels.

anyway...

i just recently caught a little pb-fever since helping my neighbor bring his back from the dead. so, what does anyone w/ a fever do??? well...they go to craigslist for some medicine, right?

so here's what i recently acquired:

43cc cagllari "daytona" pocket bike
project_name: "bull" (it has a bull sticker on it)

price paid: $50
what's the deal: it would not run, says previous owner (kid). looking at it they had messed w/ the carb, which when i picked it up was incomplete. also, the carb was missing the mounting bolts. lastly there wasn't a spark plug. i'm hoping that's it, unless those little boogers that were messing around w/ it dropped something in the cylinder.

the 43cc looks a little like this. but just mono-color, red.

49cc X2 pocket bike
project_name: "cotton mouth" (it kinda looks like a snake to me)

price paid: $35
what's the deal: uhhh, what's not wrong with this thing. i actually just picked it up tonight, so i haven't had a chance to really check it out. definitely some upper-end engine damage (cylinder and piston issues). also looks like they beat the shiznit out of it, so i'm hoping tomorrow when i look at it there's no frame damage. most of the farings are cracked/scratched from what i see. the chain is rusted. the tires are flat. the throttle grip has been removed. gas tank is detached...blah blah...pretty much i'll be ripping this apart and starting frame-off, ordering new parts as needed. should be fun. :thumbsup:

here's what the x2 is supposed to look like

tomorrow when it is light out, i'll take pictures of both my new projects.