Pocketbike Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Before i ask this keep in mind that I’ve never built custom battery packs before and have a limited understanding of whats required for different types of batteries. So I have 3 spare black and decker 18v battery packs which consist of 15 Sanyo KR-1500 batteries each, making a total of 45 individual cells. To my understanding these are NiCd batteries, and they dont seem to have any sort of chips or bms in them.

I am trying to add it to my e bike which currently has a 36v 20ah lipo battery, however it needs more capacity. Is there any way i could make a custom battery out of these packs?

Can i just get a black and decker charger and wire them in where it doesnt go above 36v or should i try to make a custom battery out of the three packs and get a charger that could charge the battery.

Again I’m new to batteries and stuff but i think i could add the batteries for extra capacity. Any information would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
What's your poison? Mine is 40:1
1,386 Posts
I dont have a lot if experience building them either. BUT, you cannot mix lithium and NiCd at all. Bad things happen. You would need more of whatever cells are in your pack. Its possible the BMS in the pack would need to be upgraded too.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I had a feeling that you wouldn’t be able to mix the two batteries. I have a second controller and motor that i was planning on slapping on.

I was thinking of having dual batteries, motors, and controllers. That way there would be basically two separate systems with the same inputs for throttle and power. I feel like this is the best way to get around them not being able to mix.

All i need is another 36v battery with around or more than 20ah.