Pocketbike Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here guys...

Cag 47cc. I installed the Boost Bottle last night, plastic spacer on the bike, and I DID install the hose barb on the bottom.

So I start it, and it revs at full throttle like mad. I shut it down, figure it's the throttle cable/carb interface, nope appears ok. I go through the cable run and it appears eveything is seated ok.

So I start again, and it revs at full throttle. This time I have it choked and have not a lot of throttle control in the choke position, but when I just start to take it off of choke, it revs at full RPM again like mad, quickly, I give it gas to see if I have throttle response, and I do have some, but I shut it down. I figure it's an adjustment in the throttle pin.

I started it with the throttle pin c-clip in both top and bottom positions with the same exact result. Still trying to chase down what in the ****** is going on. I read that the Boost Bottle port on the bottom end has problems, so I attemp to pinch off the tube out of the port with an adjustable (it's maybe not 100% shutoff, but darn close).

I start again...still rev at full rpm, this time it comes off the stand and almost blasts across the garage. Ok, so it's got to be something in the adapter/reed/carb assembly. I pull the whole thing. No splits in the plastic, reeds are straight, gaskets are intact. I bolt it all back together in a painstaking criss cross pattern turn by turn to make sure that I don't flex the plastic adapter out to cause a leak...everything looks good.

I start again...and AGAIN the SOB revs at top RPM nearly uncontrolably !

It's got to be something with the Boost Bottle I installed last night. The thing of it is, I hit about 34.4 mph with a 100cm circumference setting (the actual circumference of these tires is 86.5 cm), so a 15% decrease in circumference is ~30 MPH, which is not too bad since I'm ~175lbs...