Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, UK newbie here.. I've bought a brand new c1 and done a few small mods to it, lick of paint and changed the rad bottle position.. and a few other little things..

I took her for a spin at the local track and I can only do 3-5 laps (small track) before she over heats? the bike starts to bogs at the low end of the RPM range and becomes less responsive, I take no chances and cut it out. I know these bikes are very temperamental and are notorious for cooling problems but is this normal???

I have bled the cooling system, including burping it using the bleed screw at the top of the hose, tilting the bike in various ways to get out any unwanted air. Would changing the rad bottle position have any effect on the cooling?

I'm looking for one of the CNC long aluminium radiators if anyone has one in the UK??

TIA

Attachments

·
Registered
24,101 Posts
Welcome aboard, I am in California, I have the 50cc ( 46cc ) C1, water cooled and 39cc air cooled Blata clone engine in a W/C C1 frame. If your in England try www. Petrolscooter .com There China made and not very good quality. Take the starter housing on the right. You will see the water pump pulley driven by an O ring belt off the back of the flywheel. Turn the flywheel by hand to see if the pump pulley turns. My pump shaft froze, burnt the belt off and then the water seal leaked the coolant in to my engine, and my brain blew a gasket, lol. Tell me what you see. If you click on the red Garage under my avatar photo you will see the C1s and Banshee Sho.

·
Registered
346 Posts
Why did you mount the coolant bottle on the seat unit😳😳.
When the bike won't fire up your clutchseting is wrong. Sounds like to low engaging rpm. Should set to about 8000rpm.
Check the waterpump like the other said.
I'll have a used BZM and used Polini radiator on stock, I'm located in Austria.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5