Pocketbike Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Lucky 7 with BB head kit, 2-shoe clutch w \zocchi springs, flywheel mod, lift-plates
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
So I picked up this C1 and started tearing it down, as it wasn't running right. Only on choke it would run. So first cleaned the carb, but that didn't help much. Now I have the engine out and all but split the cases, as the waterpump area looks clean and I can't feel much play on the crank.

I reckoned the bad running might be the piston and rings or otherwise leaking crank bearings. So I took the cilinder off and it has some marks of blow by the rings and the plug is pretty black. As I am rather new to 2 strokes, could anyone assess the state of my piston/? What does this brown markings tell?
Drinkware Food storage containers Cookware and bakeware Tableware Gas
Drinkware Cookware and bakeware Lid Food storage containers Cylinder
Household hardware Wood Art Auto part Screw

As you can see I have quickly measured the squish at one place. It was.76mm. Broke off one of the skirts, don't ask....

I think the rings might be the problem, so I am ordering a new piston with rings. I also took all gaskets and needle bearing to a local shop to have them match them up. Already been some time now, so I think they have a hard time finding the right parts.

·
Registered
Lucky 7 with BB head kit, 2-shoe clutch w \zocchi springs, flywheel mod, lift-plates
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The cilinder looks to be okay. No signs of wear as I can tell. so I am trying the piston and rings first. What would be a reason for changing the cilinder too?

·
Administrator
3,630 Posts
If you get all three parts together as a kit you won't have to worry about the cylinder and piston not having a good fit

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)