Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to the whole scene. Which probably means i shouldn't buy someone else's project which is basically a roller. Lets just start off with what it did come with!! Obviously it came with a frame (which is a little rusty since i assume he stored it outside) other than that its pretty full with wheels and tires that look decent. There is one calipher left on the back but no lines or handle lever. And it come with a basic engine (no pull start or electric) and a cvt transmission all together and a very rusty chain that attaches to the back sprocket. Included as well are a few plastics that are almost non-usable because from what i can tell they were ripped off with the screws still in them. That isnt really a big deal because until i get it running its going to be a naked bike. My plan is to use the original engine if i can to save a little money to a point but will end up modding for better performance. When i received the bike it had already been partially torn down so i started where they left off. Where i have gotten to in my project is the frame is stripped down and so is the engine as far as i could get it. My only problem with that is getting the stator/magneto off the case (im not even sure thats what its called). my plan was to buy a new one once i can get it off since the wire running from it was frayed where it connects. Im also not sure on what kit to get for the engine rebuild. I have narrowed down that my bike is a x2 with a 49cc piston ported engine using these forums, do i have to modify the block to put one of the big bore kits from ebay on it? i do have a 44mm piston set up so i know it wouldnt really be big bore but it needs rebuilt anyways!! and plus some of the kits look pretty schweet!!! Also can anyone tell me what chain to buy? This is kinda a lazy question, i saw it on here somewhere but cant seem to find it again..also i assume it has stock sproc