Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
btw guys im new with this. the bike was given too me broken a couple months ago and i had some help reviving it because and previous owner nearly killed it with straight fuel. i also had to buy new parts.

i have a problem with the pocket bike, when i start it and run it for around 10 secs it stalls and when i try start it after that it sometimes starts and sometimes won't start. the methods i have used were to tune the air to fuel mixture screw, clean the carby, clean the fuel tank and then apply brand new fuel. but still does the same thing. btw it is a pretty old bike and hasn't been ridden for a while. there could be the something wrong with and engine but i don't know.

could anyone help?

my bike is exactly like this but a lot older with some rust.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Hi, (First post here, just registered)

Did you check the filter and the fuel lines? it it fires up cold it can indicate that the fuel is getting to the carb, all be it a little slowly. This happens when the fuel lines are blocked or kinked, or the filter is filthy. What happens is the carb bowl empties after initial start and the fuel from the tank cant get into the carb quick enough for the demand from the engine.

just one of the things that could be causing it. :)

·
Banned
21,744 Posts
Install a new fuel filter,,new sparkplug gapped to .030" with fresh 28:1 premix if your engine topend is new.........

If it continues to stall and such try totally cleaning the carb,,resetting the float height and look into the petcock mod...............It works a small miracle with these small engines and will require a 1/4" inline fuel shutoff after that because the petcock mod eliminates the weak anemic fuel flow ...the mod strengthens fuel flow to the carb and eliminates 20% of the problems.......