Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, my name is Joey, I'm a self employed PC tech by trade and I mod, hack, repair, rebuild, and resell just about anything I can get my hands on. I attend a local estate auction on a weekly basis where I pick up a lot of my stuff. It also just so happens is where I found my first PB, a A2 needing lots of love, and basically a frame, front wheel, half an engine, and clutch for a A1.

Picked them up for $20 with the intent of fixing them up and reselling them BUT after I got the A2 running, I've had a change of heart, and well, have been bitten by the bug. Once I get my A2 running like a champ I plan on doing a complete tear down and a full restoration. Thinking of going with a matte black finish on the frame, all black fairing, and white rims. As for the A1, not too sure what I'm going to do with it yet. Anywho, just wanted to stop by and introduce myself. I'm also really into electronics so if anyone needs help with circuit building, or just simple wiring, feel free to bother me. I'm always willing to help those that want to learn.

·
Registered
447 Posts
Nice deal and welcome to the forum! Both sound like fun projects, will def look for your build threads :)

·
Banned
24,164 Posts
Welcome Aboard, looks like you got some work to do.

·
Premium Member
8,578 Posts
Welcome to the forums ... nice pair of projects you have there.

On the A2, I would suggest flopping the forks so the brake caliper is behind the fork leg. Too often, I've seen someone hit a curb and bust the entire caliper right off. Having it behind the fork leg protects it more, plus gi es something for the caliper to push against when braking (if you hit the brake now, it pulls away from the fork leg, which could lead to possible damage and a trip over the handlebars).

And please lose those awful chainguards, even if you have to fab something up.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #6