Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all...Never thought I would become a subscriber to a Pocket Bike page, but here we are. I'm more into Harley's, but these thing's look FUN.
I just picked up a cag RS/R at my local salvage yard. Twenty Bux! Well...some part's are missing. Engine is complete, minus magneto. Fairing and sidecovers...gone, allong with both fender's. It apealed to me tho, as I have been a mechanic for over 30 year's, and well...I love toy's. When my 11 yr. old seen the bike, it was on. He didnt want to hear about DAD'S new bike! lol. So...that's why I'm here. I want to teach the Boy to ride on this bike...but the "master wrench" has hit a wall. Yea...Ive built twelve hundred HP Pullin Engine's...But a chainsaw engine has me stumped. (gulp)
I bought a Mag on Ebay...from Hong Kong. Go to the source..right? Got part yesterday with much exitement. Got home from work, went straight to Bike with allen wrench in hand. Bolted that baby on...Placed new plug in the end of wire...and cranked it over with the poor mans starter motor...(half-inch drill). I got the faintest spark when grounded on head. I thought it may fly...Put plug in and cranked..nothing. Pulled plug back out..cranked grounded plug again ..no spark. Pulled boot off...helt wire-end to block..no spark. Rat's!!
So I box up the suspect Mag for a return. I recalled a mechanic friend of mine picking up a Bike just like mine..I go to the shop..and His Bike needs a chain...sweeeet...I can borrow the Mag from Him!
I speed home, used part in hand...SAME RESULT!! I'm Wooped. The magnet's in the Flywheel are spotless...Ive got the air-gap on the Mag @ .020. There is a little "Woble" in the f-wheel as it spin's..but I dont think that's it. I need help.