Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Not so long ago, like around 4 months ago we moved into our new house and I found a "Cat Eye Pocket bike ZX-7R" which was in not so good condition. I've been restoring the pocket bike for 3 months now, and finally its done. The pocket bike starts up good on the fist pull, but when I wan't to start the pocket bike using the electric starter the bike won't start? I got the battery and took it in to autozone for testing and they told me the battery was good and that I didn't need a replacement. When ever I try to start it using the ES I'm able to hear a "dirty buzzing noise" coming from one of the electrical boxes(bigger one) under the seat, I removed the pullstart to see if it would spin or move, but it doesn't, it only moves like 1cm or less. They told me that it was the solenoid, but I can't find it any were. I've tested the starter and it does work. I've also checked the fuse and its good too. Any ideas on how I can fix this problem? On this pocket bike I wasn't able to find a solenoid just 2 electrical boxes one small and one larger one.

The solenoid sounds similar like this:
YouTube - ‪49cc pocketbike motor selenoid buzzing‬‏

Pics:
ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting
ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting

·
But who prays for Satan?
6,571 Posts
What was the voltage reading on the battery, and did they do a "load test" and if they did, how many Amps did they "load" the battery at, and for how long?

Here is a break-down of starter solenoids...

Buzzing or a single click, usually means low battery voltage...

Here is the test, positive and negative leads on the positive and negative terminals, turn the bike on, hit the starter, watch the voltage drop.

If it "Dips" below 9.6 volt, something is wrong.

If you can do this test, and answer my questions I will be right here to step you through a fix.