Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 20 of 115 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm new to pocket bikes and cag engines.
But not to 2 strokes and tuning.

I don't know what the goals is really more than try to get the engine as fast as my knowledge and wallet can make it. And having fun making the engine as good as I can. Some riding too I suppose

I've got 2 engine's right now.
1. 44mm
2. 40mm.

I will go for the 40mm first because the 44mm cylinder are bad. Very much of the top of the piston is visible at bdc.

So 40mm it is.
I have raised and widened the exhaust port a bit. But the exhaust duration is still just 160°
So will make some more work on that.
Transfer ports are really low too so that's need to be raised a bit too.
Don't wanna mess the transfer ports though.

IMG_20200806_210720.jpg
And here is the pocket bike.
It was cheap and not in great condition.
But it's the engine I'm going to do the most work on.

Started porting sorry for the messy shot.
Will make it a bit wider and deeper.
IMG_20200815_174729.jpg

I removed some of the top of the piston to make the exhaust port open fully.
Still using stock carb with petcock mod.

Plan is to continue the porting of the 40mm cylinder.
Lighten the piston a bit.
Make the reed plate a bit smoother.
New bearings and seals.
Pumper carb for easy tuning.
Blue printing of engine cases and cylinder.
Port the crankshaft and crankcase for better flow.
Carbon fiber reed.
Modify exhaust expansion chamber.
Making a 9 fin flywheel.
Lighten the clutch.

What port durations are you guys using?
Is it some basic or advance mod that's missing?
Someone used E85 as fuel?
I've ordered a rocket key, but for a high reeving engine I think I will mount it so it retards the ignition instead of advance the timing, for better overrev capabilities.

Sincerely FutureWorld from Sweden

·
Registered
436 Posts
You can go to ~175° exhaust duration, all more you will loos your exhaust flange.