Pocketbike Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wanting to reassure myself. Seeing as I have little knowledge of how different stages of modification changes preformance. I figure someone else will know better.

Just got done putting the motor together, getting it running, and then taking it for a spin.

Before: Me and my brother have the same bike. Mine was faster than his pretty much at all speeds, but not significant until the later RPMs, as mine will hit a higher top speed. Both bikes are very close though, and hit the pipe at the same rpm, or very closely.

Then I did the following...
-Tapered carb, it was 14mm stock interestingly enough.
-.3 reed. Dremeled out that middle support in the reed cage.
-tapered needle (3rd position) and adjustable jet
-cone filter
-here's the big stuff. Ported out head and indexed piston to 124 degrees of intake and 180 degrees of exhaust duration. I figure this is conservative enough to allow slight adjustment if needed. Also widened exhaust port a small amount, maybe .5mm if that.
-Still using stock exhuast

Now: Bike definately has a lumpier idle. Seems to run alright, has a strange roughness at a spot in low/mid throttle. I don't know if this is a fueling issue, or if it is just the timing overlapping badly. Below and above that it seems fine. Motor is definately louder and might be a little hotter, didn't really check temp before. I suspect the increases exhaust flow is to blame.

Now if we race from a stand still. His has some more low end, not a lot more, but some. We are within a few fet up until he hits the pipe and I can see him jump forward, maybe 5 feet ahead of me. But by then I am speeding up, doesn't ever feel like I hit the pipe hard like I used to, if I'm even hitting it at all. Just slowly rev up higher and higher until I pass by. Top end seems higher to me, but that's the butt-dyno for ya.

Does this seem about right for a ported head without a tuned pipe?