Pocketbike Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

New to all this so any advice would be really appreciated. I inherited a rather tired red X2 midi moto and started with the basics to get it running. Battery was replaced (spark), carb and fuel line/tank cleaned up (fuel) and new exhaust gasket was fitted. All well, engine starts and is singing sweetly but now I have drivetrain issues. The machine seems to be permanantly in gear and when running with teh back wheel off the ground, any hint of throttle just kills the engine dead. Does anyone have any ideas?

I have other questions around settings like...

How many turns from being fully in on the sprung carb screw (i guess this is mixture) should I be?

And also, the thing ****es fuel out when stood through the airbox, is it missing something?

I am reasonably mechanically minded with two strokes and I understand how a centrifugal clutch works however I have no real diagnostics experience with c/clutches.

Yours truly.

Rob.

·
But who prays for Satan?
6,571 Posts
Sounds like the "stall clutch" is stuck open, maybe the spring is broken, or it could be that you need a new clutch, sometimes the clutch pads come off (de-laminate) and get jammed in the clutch bell.

turn the mixture screw all the way in, then back out 1 1/2 - 2 turns out, then fine tune it...

leaking fuel, when it's tipped up? that would be normal, there is a "float" just like in a toilet, when the bike is not level it lets fuel flow....

maybe you could install a fuel tap / shut-off valve?

Good luck! :):thumbsup:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3