Pocketbike Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got an x7 a few weeks ago, i have already had to replace the tires, carburator, fuel filter, fuel lines, battery, and spark plug. The engine was running great but I noticed a loud rattling kinda sound, and huge lack of Power to the ground. So i decided to check the clutch and engine components. They end up looking good( my photos will be posted when i get to a computer) makes me a little worried it could Be a tranny issue but I'll worry about that if it ends up to be the issue.

However the road block ive hit is; I'm stuck with where I should go from here before I piece the engine together, i dont want to look into porting myself yet, I'm still learning. from searching around a bit it looks like I don't have many options when it comes to engine performance upgrade kits.

I was going to buy this 52cc bbk but I've been reading h
ere that it's not worth the money and not a true upgrade?
http://www.minibikepartsnow.com/x-7-performance-parts.htm

What would you suggest as some good performance mods for the engine that I can purchase then get this bike on the road?

I figure after that I can start planning some custom work of my own for this bike, thanks for all the help, ive learned so much from these forums.
I'll post some pics of the bike and engine soon.

·
French Fries N Cheese
1,174 Posts
Looking good. As far as performance goes theres lots you can DIY like porting your cylinder, lightened the piston, polishing and deburring the sharp edges on the cylinder. bluepring the inside of the crank case, but dont take too much out because the idea is to minimise case volume. Lighten up the flywheel by trimming the fins, then balance it. Lighten up the clutch and upgrade for a stronger spring to increase the lock up RPM.

Things you can buy:
A good rev pipe to help the engine breathe
Timing advance "rocket" key
Woodruff key for the clutch
bigger fuel lines and filter